This article was added by the user Owen James. TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Jake Schindler Takes SHRB Europe Title, Phil Ivey Earns Overall Championship

Another High Roller event has finished its festivities, this one in Cyprus for the 2022 Super High Roller Bowl Europe. Friday saw the conclusion of the $250,000 Super High Roller Bowl Europe Main Event, which was taken down by Jake Schindler for his second career $3 million payday. For the overall title, Phil Ivey came out to earn the championship after a stellar run over the entirety of the SHRB Europe series.

Jake Schindler Bests Paul Phua, Christoph Vogelsang for Main Event Championship

Thirty-two entries came out for the $250,000 Main Event of the SHRB Europe, building a prize pool of $8 million that only five players would benefit from. There were seven players who came back to the tables in Cyprus on Friday, meaning that two of them would have nothing to show for having made the final table of this High Roller event. Schindler was in the lead to start the day’s action with 1.525 million chips, but it was a slim lead over Phua (1.34 million) and Vogelsang (1.3 million) as the cards went to the air.

After Michael Addamo was eliminated early on in seventh place, more than three hours of play took place before the money bubble popped. When it did, it was a cruel twist of fate that came about. After a raise from Timothy Adams, Ali Imsirovic looked at his hole cards to see a pair of Kings looking back at him. Imsirovic reraised, but Adams did not back down either, moving all in to push Imsirovic to a decision. Imsirovic could not be scared that he was facing pocket Aces and made the call…

Except he was facing pocket Aces. Adams had to love the action that Imsirovic gave and, with all of Imsirovic’s chips in the center, all that was left was dealing the cards. The board came blank for both men, leaving Adams as the winner and, for the second year in a row, Imsirovic out as the “bubble boy” for the SHRB Europe Main Event.

Now with a minimum $560K in their pocket, the players began to loosen up a bit. Teun Mulder was defeated by Schindler and, immediately after the dinner break, Adams would fall to Phua. Schindler got back in the action by taking out Vogelsang to move to heads up action against Phua holding more than a 2:1 lead (5.7 million/2.3 million).

Schindler dominated the action once heads-up play began, using a power game to force Phua out of hands. Phua quickly saw his chip stack dwindle to around a million chips before he finally decided to try to fight back but, by then, it was too late. Phua would get his chips to the center with a Q-4, only to see he was dominated by Schindler’s Q-J. A King high board made Schindler’s Jack kicker play, ending the tournament and earning the title for Schindler.

1. Jake Schindler, $3.2 million

2. Paul Phua, $2.08 million
3. Christoph Vogelsang, $1.28 million
4. Timothy Adams, $880,000
5. Teun Mulder, $560,000

Phil Ivey Rides Dual Titles to SHRB Europe Overall Championship

Normally when you win one event in a tournament series, you are in decent shape to make a run at a “Player of the Series” title. Phil Ivey dominated the field during the PokerGO Tour’s stay in Cyprus, putting on a display that reminded everyone in attendance of the skills that the Poker Hall of Famer has and that he is still one of the most dangerous players in the game.

Ivey took down two titles during the SHRB Europe, including a Short Deck event during the Triton Poker Cyprus (results from that schedule counted towards the SHRB) and a Pot Limit Omaha tournament during the SHRB Europe. Those two events earned Ivey over $1.8 million but, along with his other three cashes, Ivey picked up over $2.8 million for his work. Those five finishes were enough to net him 1725 points towards the overall title, good enough to crush the field and capture the championship.

1. Phil Ivey, 1725 points

2. Daniel Dvoress, 1155
3. Jason Koon, 1139
4. Elton Tsang, 1063
5. Danny Tang, 969
6. Lee Wai Kiat, 875
7. Jake Schindler, 871
8. Andras Nemeth, 738
9. Winfred Yu, 700
10. Tom Vogelsang, 668

(Photos provided by